Scottish Economic Society 

Scottish Economic Society Annual Conference 2010

Published on 10/01/09

Monday, April 12th - Wednesday, April 14th, 2010
Ramada Jarvis Hotel, Perth & Stirling Castle


Call for papers & proposals for organised sessions

The Society invites submissions of papers for presentation and proposals for dedicated paper sessions at its Annual Conference in Perth. Papers and proposals for organised sessions from all areas of Economics, Economic Policy and Econometrics are invited from academics and practitioners in government, local authority, NDPBs, private sector and charitable organisations.
The Society places particular emphasis on the application of economics to policy and there will be invited sessions in separate policy and pedagogy streams.
Please see below for submission details, deadlines and a provisional conference programme. Further details will be made available shortly

Sir Alec Cairncross Prize
The Scottish Economic Society will award a prize of £1000 for the best paper presented at the 2010 annual conference by an economist currently registered for a PhD or who has successfully completed a PhD within the last five years. Consideration for the prize presupposes conference attendance and society membership.

Submission of papers & proposals
1. Abstracts must be submitted electronically via e-mail to by Friday 20th January 2010. Please use an open file format, such as PDF or LaTeX, for your submission. All abstracts must contain the corresponding author’s full address. Contributors will receive e-mail notification as to whether their papers have been accepted by Monday February 15th.
2. Full papers must be submitted by Friday 26th March 2010 so that they can be included on the Conference CD and in the Conference Book of Abstracts. Full papers should be submitted in PDF format, and should include (i) a brief abstract of 100-200 words and (ii) where relevant, JEL classification numbers.
3. Cairncross Prize applicants must submit full papers by Friday 20th January 2010 – such that the competition can be decided prior to the conference –, and should indicate that they wish to be considered for the prize in their e-mail.
4. Proposals for organised sessions should include the title of the proposed session, the name of the chair and a set of three or four abstracts in either PDF, RTF or LaTeX format. Proposals should be submitted via e-mail to the e-mail address above, by Friday 20th January 2010. Full papers for Organised Sessions must be submitted by the session organiser by Friday 26th March 2010.

Support for PhD students
The Scottish Economic Society will continue its policy of promoting conference participation by young economists and supporting PhD students. To this end, all paper presenters who are currently registered for a PhD (or enrolled in an equivalent doctoral programme) can attend the conference at a reduced fee of £ 285 (instead of the standard fee of £ 345). All resident delegate packages include society membership for one year and full room and board at the conference hotels.
In addition, this fee will be reduced even further to £ 165 for the presenters of the ten best papers submitted by a PhD student. PhD students who want to take advantage of this must submit their paper to the Cairncross competition.

An outline of conference events
Monday’s big event is the Sir Alec Cairncross Memorial Dinner. This is preceded by Reception, hosted by the Provost of Perth and Kinross Council. At the dinner, the announcement of the 2010 Sir Alec Cairncross will be made.
The Conference Dinner will be held on Tuesday at Stirling Castle, preceded by our traditional Economics’ Network Workshop on improving the teaching of Economic. Entertainment activities at Stirling Castle will focus on Scottish history and tradition.
The SES President’s Lecture will be delivered by Professor Christoph Schmidt, President, RWI Essen and Economic Advisor to Chancellor Angela Merkel. The topic for the SES Policy Forum will be “Scotland: Sick man of Europe?”

Conference organising committee
Klaus B. Beckmann, Helmut-Schmidt University, President-elect, Scottish Economic Society
Ioannis Theodossiou, University of Aberdeen
Robert E. Wright, University of Strathclyde, President, Scottish Economic Society

Bookmark and Share

Search the Site


Site Adverts